For more than 100 years, the New Castle Public Library has worked to expand and introduce new services that enhance the educational and recreational needs of our residents. The library continues to play an important role in the Lawrence County area. Good libraries don’t just happen; they have to be planned, cared for, and guided through change.





From 1910-1925, the library was housed in a large room on the second floor of the Heilman Building (later known as the Haney Building) on East Washington Street, the site of the current Rite Aid parking lot next to the Community Y. After outgrowing that space, the library moved to the remodeled Hoyt Residence at the southwest corner of Jefferson and North streets in 1925 where it remained until its relocation to the Old Post Office Building on North and Mercer streets in 1938. The present-day library at 207 E. North St. opened to the public in 1981.

New Castle Public Library inspires lifelong learning and fulfills the educational, recreational, and informational needs of the community.



Board of Trustees

Philip Tramdack (2023) - President

Mitzila Hogans (2022) - Vice President

Debby Yeager (2021) - Secretary

Joseph Ambrosini (2021) - Treasurer

Stephanie Caffro (2022)

Patricia Kardambikis (2023)

Terri Squeglia (2022)

The Board of Trustees sets policy and direction for the library, act as advocates for the Library with the both the general community and elected officials


Board members are volunteers appointed to 3 year terms and represent the communities in NCPL’s Direct Service Area (City of New Castle, Hickory Twp., Neshannock Twp., New Wilmington Borough, Plain Grove Twp., Pulaski Twp., Scott Twp., Shenango Twp., Slippery Rock Twp., South New Castle Boro., Taylor Twp, Union Twp., Volant Borough, Washington Twp., Wilmington Twp.)



The New Castle Public Library Board of Trustees meets the 3rd Tuesday of January and February, the 3rd Monday of March through December at 1:30 p.m. All meetings are open to the public.   

2021 Meeting Schedule

Jan. 19 (Tuesday)

Feb. 16 (Tuesday)

March 15

April 19

May 17

June 21

July 19

Aug. 16

Sept. 20

Oct. 18

Nov. 15

Dec. 20

2021 Library Closings:

Jan. 1 - New Year's Day                 

Jan. 18 - Martin Luther King Jr. Day 

Feb. 15 - President's Day 

May 31 - Memorial Day

July 5 - Independence Day

Sept. 6 - Labor Day

Oct. 11 - Columbus Day

Nov. 11 - Veterans Day

Nov. 24 - Thanksgiving Eve (Close 2 p.m.)

Nov. 25 - Thanksgiving Day

Dec. 24 - Christmas Eve (Close 12 p.m.)

Dec. 25 - Christmas Day

Dec. 31 - New Year's Eve (Close 2 p.m.)

Department Contacts:

Phone: 724-658-6659 (extensions listed)

Director :

District Consultant :

Reference :

District Technology :

Circulation :

Children's Services :

Young Adult Services :

Genealogy/History :

Bookmobile :

Cataloging :

Interlibrary Loan :


ext. 113

ext. 124

ext. 108, 109

ext. 130

ext. 102, 107

ext. 106

ext. 111

ext. 112

ext. 110

ext. 127

ext. 101